Charles Dutton Memorial Tournament Results

The Dallas WPC won the Open Division and the North Texas Thunder WPC won both the 8th Grade and 6th Grade Divisons at the Charles Dutton Memorial Tournament this weekend. More detailed results to be posted soon. The Connor Cup Series standings have been updated to reflect this event; see link in menu section of this site for current standings.

SpinLob Classic Results

The Olympic Club defeated TMWPC to win the SpinLob Classic at the UT Swim Center in Austin on Feb. 8-9. Game scores to be added at this site soon.

1st – Olympic Club (won final 15-10)
2nd – TMWPC
3rd – Arizona State University (won 3rd place 12-9)
4th – Rain City
5th – Darkside of Clayton (won 5th place 13-12)
6th – University of San Francisco
7th – TOTEX (won 7th place 13-8)
8th – HOPS
9th (tie) – St. Louis, Dynamo, Univ. of Pennsylvania, Univ. of Texas
13th (tie) – Austin, San Antonio

Southwest Zone Board and Updated Policies

The Southwest Zone Policies & Procedures document will dictate how the Southwest Zone will conduct business. Changes, updates, etc. can be made to the document on Zone Board conference calls and/or the annual Southwest Zone meeting. Below is the current Southwest Zone Board. We would like to welcome Vern Heimbigner as the newest addition to the Southwest Zone Board, being recently named to the position of Southwest Zone Head Referee. The next slate of elections will occur in the 4th Quarter of 2014. Details can be found in the document found under the Governance link on this page..

2014 Southwest Zone Board:
Zone Chair: Joe Linehan
Secretary: Robert Albach
Treasurer: Jim Linehan
Zone Referee: Vern Heimbigner
At Large Member: JT Wall
At Large Member: Scott Slay

Connor Cup Series – Open/Women’s Divisions

The Connor Cup Series Open and Women’s Division will stay the same as with past years with the exception that the Spinlob Classic hosted at the UT Swim Center in February each year will be added to the list of Connor Cup Events: Spinlob Classic (February in Austin), Dutton Tournament (March in North Texas), Dallas Summer Classic (June), Houston Summer Open (July), Fosdick Tournament (September in San Antonio), and the Dallas Fall Invite (November). Points based on placing and participation for each event will be accumulated throughout the year. At the conclusion of the Dallas Fall Invite, plaques for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place for each gender will be given out. In addition, the perpetual trophy will be past over to the annual 1st place team for each gender. If a tournament does not have a women’s specific division, there will be no points awarded for that event in the Women’s Division. To see the current and past standings for the Connor Cup Men’s & Women’s Divisions please see the Connor Cup Series link in the Menu of this page,

2014 Connor Cup Series Adds Age Group Divison

The Connor Cup – Age Group Division will be awarded to the team with the most cumulative points based on final standings in all sanctioned USA Water Polo events within the Southwest Zone. There will be seasonal and annual awards to maximize recognition for the growing number of age group water polo programs within the Southwest Zone. All standings will be posted online at Details wil be included under the Connor Cup Series on the Menu link on this page.