2014 Southwest Zone Awards


Each year, USA Water Polo solicits and funds awards for coaches, referees, masters and volunteers in each zone. Below are the Southwest Zone Award Winners for 2014 as nominated/selected by the Southwest Zone Board. The award winners are eligible for selection by USA Water Polo for National Coach, Referee, and Volunteer of the year awards. Congratulations to all selected as their effots have helped water polo grow and continue to thrive in the Southwest Zone. Past award winners can be found at the Zone Awards link on this site.

Southwest Zone Coaching, Referee, Masters and Volunteer Awards – 2014:
Monte Nitzkowski Distinguished Coaching Award, Elite Men’s Coach: Justin Cotter (UT Men’s Water Polo, 1st Place CWPA Texas Division, 6th place Nationals)
Sandy Nitta Distinguished Coaching Award, Elite Women’s Coach: Scott Slay (West Houston WPC, 1st Place Connor Cup Women’s Division)
Bill Barnett Distinguished Coaching Award, Superior Men’s Coach: Mihai Oprea (St Marks WP – 1st place boys Texas HS State, St Marks WPC, Dallas WPC)
Doc Hunkler Distinguished Coaching Award, Superior Women’s Coach: Allie Hill (Sterling HS – 1st place girls Texas HS State, West Houston WPC)
Ted Newland Distinguished Coaching Award, Development Men’s Coach: Tom Andrews (Longhorn Aquatics, TISCA Water Polo West Region)
Brent Bohlender Distinguished Coaching Award, Development Women’s Coach: Sabrina Carlile (Thunder Water Polo)
Barbara Kalbus Distinguished Volunteer Award: Robert Albach (Southwest Zone Board, Austin WPC)
Bryan Weaver Male Master of the the Year: Austen Oliver (HOPS, SW Zone Referee)
Bryan Weaver Female Master of the the Year: Becca Andrews (Austin WPC, Longhorn Aquatics)
Brett Bernard Distinguished Referee Award, Elite Referee: John Rightmyer (Collegiate and Master’s Water Polo Referee, Texas High School State Referee, TAWPO President)
Tom Hermstad Distinguished Referee Award, Scholastic Referee: Angela Uno (Age Group and Texas High School State Referee)
Aaron Chaney Distinguished Referee Award, Development Referee: Cole Mahan (Age Group and Texas High School State Referee)