2015 USAWP Southwest Zone Awards


Each year, USA Water Polo solicits and funds awards for coaches, referees, masters and volunteers in each zone.  Below are the Southwest Zone Award Winners for 2015 as nominated/selected by the Southwest Zone Board.  The award winners are eligible for selection by USA Water Polo for National Coach, Referee, and Volunteer of the year awards.  Congratulations to those selected as they have worked hard to help water polo grow and continue to thrive in the Southwest Zone.   All past Southwest Zone award winners are listed at http://www.southwestwaterpolo.org/?page_id=35.

Southwest Zone Coaching, Referee, Masters and Volunteer Awards – 2015:

Monte Nitzkowski Distinguished Coaching Award, Elite Men’s Coach:  Tom Andrew (Longhorn Aquatics/TOTEX)

Sandy Nitta Distinguished Coaching Award, Elite Women’s Coach:  Chris Cullen (Thunder Water Polo, Denton ISD Aquatics)

Bill Barnett Distinguished Coaching Award, Superior Men’s Coach:  Mihai Oprea (St Marks School of Texas, St Marks Water Polo Club)

Doc Hunkler Distinguished Coaching Award, Superior Women’s Coach:  Joey Yglesias (Thunder Water Polo, Southlake-Carroll HS)

Ted Newland Distinguished Coaching Award, Development Men’s Coach:  Pascal Cohen (Longhorn Aquatics, Centex WPC)

Brent Bohlender Distinguished Coaching Award, Development Women’s Coach:  Stephanie Klocke (Thunder Water Polo)

Barbara Kalbus Distinguished Volunteer Award:  Rick Hibbs (St Marks Water Polo Club)

Bryan Weaver Male Master of the the Year:  Austen Oliver (HOPS)

Bryan Weaver Female Master of the the Year:  Becca Andrew (Austin WPC)

Brett Bernard Distinguished Referee Award, Elite Referee:  Austen Oliver (USA Water Polo TYR Champions Cup Referee, Age Group & Master’s Referee, Texas High School State Referee)

Tom Hermstad Distinguished Referee Award, Scholastic Referee:  Richard Smith (Age Group & Master’s Referee, Texas High School State Referee, Houston HS Referee Assignor)

Aaron Chaney Distinguished Referee Award, Development Referee:  Mike Coon (Age Group, Masters Referee)